Soon be over

Virginia 043

I’ll be over as soon as I can.

Just wait for me.

Because the last time we spoke your silent pauses became a beggar.

Reaching out to me, panhandling for change.

Not much, just whatever I could spare.

Begging for a shift from this barren place.

Begging for enough to make it through another day.

And I wrote off this silent drifter.

Pretending that I wasn’t being called to help.

And I couldn’t shake the feeling that it left me with as I walked away.

The feeling that I had let you down.

So I’m making my way back.

With pennies for the thoughts that you can’t afford to hold.

10 thoughts on “Soon be over

Leave a Reply

