Reckless

afternoon 012

 

 

It was a thin promise, or at least it felt that way.

Made too soon with no thought.

Given too lightly.

Abandoned promises he’d left to run wild along side all of the rest.

Irresponsible promises, haunting those whom they were given.

Given like cut flowers, left scattered without the water to sustain them.

A pretty gift that withers too soon.

These were his presents.

His habit of weakly given gestures.

Flat like paper because they lacked substance.

Paper thin enough to all but disappear at the distance that he perpetually kept.

But he kept making them.

Even though he lacked the tools to build them.

Even falling prey to his own habit of broken promises, when he swore to himself that one day he’d make good.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Reckless

  1. Thank you so much, Steve!! It’s such a wonderful thing to know that the blog is appreciated. I was nominated not too long ago, and I’m not sure if it’s fair for me to accept more than once, but please know that I am encouraged and so grateful to you for thinking of me. Thanks again!! πŸ™‚

  2. My pleasure Devan! πŸ™‚ Honestly, I believe you can accept as many, or few, as you are happy with πŸ™‚ I do know that you deserve it!

  3. Thanks again and congratulations to you as well! I’ll definitely be stopping by to check out the other bloggers that you nominated. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m pleased to send it Devan! Thanks πŸ™‚ That”s the other good thing about these kinds of awards – you can find some good blogs through them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

