Chance

winter 2012 023

 

 

Chance tapped me on the shoulder – then hid.

She likes to play this game.

Keeping me guessing at which side she’ll show up on.

And when I turn my head to see her, she’ll move.

She does this so that I’ll keep my eyes open.

So that I won’t become idle.

She’ll even go so far as to leave traces of herself when she’s gone.

Making my skin tingle at the possibilities she leaves behind.

When something stirs inside of me, inspiring the notion of hope – that’s her.

When the light of morning pulls me out of slumber – that’s her.

Chance turns up with each consideration.

Quickening my pulse at the thought that we’ll meet again.

In the event that we’ll come face to face.

Constantly mindful of the moment if it should arrive.

And that’s just as chance would have it.

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Chance

  1. I’m not sure. I guess it could have just as easily been male. I’ll have to sit with that question for a while. 🙂

  2. That’s true! I’d never thought of it. Thanks for pointing it out. Maybe I’ll have the chance to write something different here. Switch it up a bit.

  3. Reminds me of a mirror image, or even a probable self living a similar life in a parallel universe. Waiting to catch a glimpse of your counterpart. Beautiful piece Devan 🙂

  4. Wow! Thank you! I love stories set like that – when you’re able to both sides playing against each other. I was trying to go for that a bit in my “Self” post. Thanks again for reading!!

Leave a Reply

