Where to stand

APRIL2 007

The trouble was in the details.

It was hard to find words to describe the man who didn’t know what he stood for.

He had blended in so well with his surroundings that he almost went unnoticed.

He’d found that turning into “no one in particular” was the easiest way to go.

So, with each step in the direction of being agreeable, he lost a feature – an aspect of what made him distinctively himself.

Smudging the fine lines into a blur.

Falling into such an acquiescent path in life that he left nothing of himself to identify.

Blending in so well that he could no longer be found.

Only a shadow of a man.

Indistinguishable in the background because he neither stood up nor stood out.

32 thoughts on “Where to stand

  1. Thank you so much!! I actually really struggled with this one. Maybe because I feel like it hits close to home for me. Thank you for your constant support!

  2. I appreciate the insight in this piece, as I do in all your writings. I relate to this one. Working on it… 🙂

  3. Fantastic, and so descriptive of the path so many choose in this harshly judgmental world. Another sublime and insightful piece of writing 🙂

  4. Yes, I can be somewhat of a “background” person myself, so this was a personal one for me. Thanks again for the support!

  5. 🙂 Don’t mention it, you got a new follower, i Love poetry, i feel its an incredible path to each person’s heart and soul, now i sound ridiculous but keep it up 🙂

  6. This is so good! Sadly I identify with this poem, at least sometimes … being a shadow of a person. Thanks for these thought provoking and poignant poem.

  7. You are a beautiful person with a beautiful heart, and I can only apologise for not having visited sooner as you so often grace my blog with your loving energy. Love and light to you…
    Ishaiya

Leave a Reply

