Timid?

Timid is a word that I’ve often used to describe myself, and I’m starting to have second (and third) thoughts about what that means exactly.  To be honest, there are things about that word that I like.  I’ve seen it as peaceful, or non-aggressive; shy and often sweet, while others have labeled the same word with a negative spin.  The word “weak” comes to mind.

So, the exercise for this week, is to tweak the definition as I’ve known it.  While the shy, sweet part isn’t bad, the hiding or shrinking parts of it can be debilitating.

I’m looking to my daughter to school me a bit on this new meaning.  She is the epitome of quiet strength.  Never backing down, but never losing her generous amount of sweetness in the process.

 

Leave a Reply

