Where do you intend for your words to go?  What is their purpose?  This is a question that someone asked me a few days ago, and I’ve been thinking about ever since.  A lot of the time (if I’m honest) I’m just sorting through my own thoughts when I speak.  I’m not necessarily thinking about where they go, or how they effect the person that I’m talking to, and I’m wondering if anyone else has had the same experience.  Are we speaking to be heard?  Are we trying to get our point across?  Are we trying to be encouraging or cutting to the person we’re talking to (or at), or are we just sorting?

What would happen if we paid closer attention to the direction of our words?

Leave a Reply

