Challenge

That ever present conflict of self confidence continues (into my 30s) to rear its ugly head, and I was thinking about what messages go through our heads when we look into the mirror.  What is it exactly is being said in that inner dialog that happens so quickly, especially when we recognize our own reflections, and why do we continue to buy into the negativity?  Why is it so powerful?

I’m going to personally challenge myself to speak encouragement into my spirit this week.  Not simply giving myself a “you can do it” speech, but really trying to think back on times that someone told me that I was appreciated, and concentrating on how that felt.

Maybe through practice we can reroute our moods to the point where positive thinking comes first instead of second.  Maybe we can will ourselves into thinking the well-meaning, esteeming, cathartic thoughts that will strengthen us instead of tearing us down.

Let’s not just be good friends to our friends, but great friends to ourselves.

Leave a Reply

